Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

This Week's Leaders

Members of LaxAllStars.com now receive 15% off at COMLAX.COM!

Hot Pot: How To Spend 10,000 Hours

edited October 2013 in Open Forum

imageHot Pot: How To Spend 10,000 Hours

The 10,000 hour rule is an interesting concept. Malcolm Gladwell raised the idea a number of times in the book Outliers, and the theory basically states than any "master" of a particular discipline has put in at least 10,000 hours of dedicated work to learn and perfect their skill set within that discipline. While the exact number of hours is still up for debate, and further statistical analysis is needed, I am confident that the overall point stands: The truly…

Read the full story here

Billy Nguyen

Comments

• Great stuff Connor! Always love to start warmups for our team with 10,000 hours, great little motivator.
    Billy NguyenKevin Rowen
  • As a youth coach I find myself wondering what is the best way. As a father of a youth player I question myself and what/how I pass the game on to my son. I have been a one handed player, I was never coached until High school, I picked up a stick when I was young and used it how it felt natural. Connor made a great point about available time to practice something, we live in a fast paced world with a lot of various time commitments, less time to practice,concentrate on your strong hand or both? One more point, people say that I have one hand but in reality I use both hands, they just have different jobs, I have things that I can do on the field with my left that I can't do with my right/dominate hand. the more I think about it, the more I lean towards wanting a kid that can do ANYTHING you ask him to do with his dominate hand.
    Billy NguyenKevin Rowen
  • I really like these types of posts about putting in work. You guys should keep pumping them out
  • jackmishjackmish Durham, NC
    edited October 2013