Shafts for x

Im new to lacrosse and was wondering about some good shafts for x and some good heads for the position as well.

Comments

• Kevin RowenKevin Rowen LAS Editorial Intern SoCal
    It really is all about preference!

My favorite head of all time is the Brine Clutch - I think I've used 6 or 7 different ones in my career, and currently use the Clutch X6 (which is legal in college only, just FYI). The Warrior Evolution or Evo is also a great head, and like the Clutch there are many different versions. Some people also love the Proton Power series from STX. There are plenty of other good ones out there too, but these are some of the "classics" for attack.

For a shaft, it depends on what shape you want it to be, if you want it to have built in grip, etc. I would recommended going for a lighter stick, but still try to get something that can take a check as playing at X you will take your fair share of those. I have been using the Maverik H2 shaft for the last 3 years because I love its shape and how light it is while still holding up well. But it's really up to what feels most comfortable for you!
    jackmishstringershack
  • @Krowen is 100% right, it really is all about personal preference.

The best thing to do, would be to hit up your local lax shop and play around a little with all the shafts they have in stock. Focus more on the grips and shape, and less on the brand name.

Then you can search around to find the best deal given what you are looking for and what you liked the best, whether that's online or at the shop.

I'm a middie, but I play both sides of the ball and invert sometimes. I've been using an Easton Scandium shaft that has held up really well and has a slightly textured grip. Would definitely recommend checking that one out.
  • jackmishjackmish Durham, NC