Members of LaxAllStars.com now receive 15% off at COMLAX.COM!

Be yourself

Learning how to string a lacrosse stick is a journey, I have been on mine for a little over 18 years now. When I started my journey you were unable to buy kits in my area, maybe they were available in the hotbeds of lacrosse, but not in Western Massachusetts. I would go to a store, buy a complete stick with a traditional pocket, pull the pocket apart and restring it. I did not have a website or person to learn from, only trail and error, I made a lot of mistakes and learned from them all. About two years into my journey stringing kits became available to me, a few at the store and I was introduced to the Great Atlantic Lacrosse catalog. In that catalog they had a custom pocket section and that is where I first saw what other people were doing with pockets, I studied and learned from the pictures and put a few tools in my toolbox of knowledge, new knots and the understanding that a pocket can be whatever you want it to be. Throughout my journey I have put new tools in my toolbox and have used them as needed, as heads and stringing supplies have changed over the years so has stringing technique and the application of them. Be yourself. I use many of the same knots mesh and string as everyone else, but it is how and where I apply them to the pocket that makes it “my pocket”. I have a style of stringing that fits me, how I play and what I want a pocket to do. Many people like my pocket stringing style, many don’t and I am perfectly comfortable with that, find someone that strings how you like your pockets. The best advice I can give any lacrosse player, is to string your own pocket, I do not mean for you to copy someones pattern, string your own, develop your own patterns, find your own way, your own style. Stringing your own pocket will cause a evolution in your game and your game will cause a evolution in your pocket. Enjoy the journey, embrace it.